• The Prize, one of the most prestigious awards in international architecture, will be
presented on May 8 2015
• The 5 Finalists will be announced in London by the end of February
• The exhibition with the 420 nominees can be visited at the Barcelona School of
Architecture (ETSAB) until March 19
• Save the date on May 7 and 8 for the finalists’ lectures, the exhibition opening and the
ceremony celebration.
The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the 40 shortlisted works that will compete for the 2015 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award. In total, 420 works were nominated for the
award. An expert Jury drew up the final shortlist (details below). The five finalists will present their projects on May 7 before the Jury decides the overall winner of the Prize, as well as the Emerging Architect Prize, at a celebration that will take place at the Mies van
der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelonaon May 8. Antoni Vives, President of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe and Deputy Mayor of Barcelona said “This edition of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe, confirms the high quality of European architecture, its creative and innovative potential and its ability to adapt to social, political and economic changes. Barcelona is committed to a sustainable urban development and as a promoter and organizer of the Prize together with the European Commission it supports the values of contemporary architecture and those professionals who are committed to building our cities.”
The 40 shortlisted works have been:
Country Name of work, location Country office – Name of office
AT 2226, Lustenau AT – Baumschlager Eberle Lustenau
BE Hostel Wadi in Hoge Rielen, Kasterlee IT- Studio Associato Bernardo Secchi-PaolaViganò
DE Immanuel Church, Cologne DE – Sauerbruch Hutton
DE Gleisdreieck Park, Berlin DE – Atelier Loidl, DE R50 – Cohousing, Berlin DE – Heide & Von Beckerath, DE- Ifau und Jesko Fezer
DE Ravensburg Art Museum, Ravensburg DE – Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei
DK Vartov Square, Copenhagen UK – Hall McKnight
DK Moesgaard Museum, Højbjerg DK – Henning Larsen Architects
DK Danish Maritime Museum, Helsingør DK – BIG – Bjarke Ingels Group
DK Childrens Home of the Future, Kerteminde DK- CEBRA architecture
DK Forfatterhuset Kindergarten, Copenhagen DK – COBE
ES Atrio – Relais Châteaux, Cáceres ES – Mansilla + Tuñón Arquitectos
ES Public Equipment: Urban Park and Transportation Hub, Logroño ES – Ábalos + Sentkiewicz Arquitectos, ES – Arquitectura Agronomia
ES Public Library, Ceuta ES – Paredes Pedrosa Arquitectos
ES Luz House, Cilleros, Cáceres ES – Arquitectura-g
ES Contemporary Art Centre, Córdoba ES – Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos
FR Soulages Museum, Rodez ES-RCRArquitectes
FR FRAC – Regional Contemporary Artwork Collection, Dunkerque FR – Lacaton & Vassal Architectes
FR Marseille Vieux Port, Marseille UK – Foster + Partners
GR Redevelopment of the New Waterfront, Thessaloniki GR-Nikiforidis-Cuomo Architects
IE University of Limerick, Medical School, Student Housing, Piazza and Pergola, Limerick, IE – Grafton Architects
IE Waterford Medieval Museum, Waterford IE – Waterford City Council Architects
IS H71a, Reykjavík IS – Studio Granda
IT Expo Gate, Milan IT – Scandurra Studio Architettura
IT Antinori Winery, San Casciano Vsl di Pesa, Firenze IT – Archea Associati
NL Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam ES – Cruz Y Ortiz Arquitectos 
NL Education Centre Erasmus Mc, Rotterdam NL – Kaan Architecten
NL De Rotterdam, Rotterdam NL- O.M.A.
NL Rozet, Culture House, Arnhem NL- Neutelings Riedijk Architects
PL Silesian Museum, Katowice AT – Riegler Riewe Architekten
PL Philarmonic Hall Szczecin, Szczecin ES – BarozziVeiga, PL – Studio A4
PL Museum of the History of Polish Jews, Warszawa FI – Architects Lahdelma & Mahlamäki
PT Arquipélago – Contemporary Arts Centre, Ribeira Grande, Azores PT – João Mendes Ribeiro Arquitecto, PT- Menos é Mais Arquitectos Associados
PT High Performance Rowing Centre, Vila Nova de Roz Côa PT- SpacialAR-TE
RO `Urban Spaces` Dogarilor Apartment Building, Bucharest RO – ADN Birou de Arhitectura
SE The New Crematorium of the Woodland Cemetery, Enskede, Stockholm
SE- Johan Celsing Arkitektkontor
TR Sancaklar Mosque, Istanbul TR- EAA – Emre Arolat Architects
UK Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, London School of Economics, London, IE – O’Donnell + Tuomey
UK Everyman Theatre, Liverpool UK – Haworth Tompkins
UK Bishop Edward King Chapel, Oxford UK – Niall McLaughlin Architects
There have been 16 Cultural, 4 Education, 3 Mixed Use, 3 Religious, 3 Urban, 2 Commercial, 2 Hotels, 2 Residential, 1 Funerary, 1 Landscape, 1 Single-family House, 1 Social Welfare and 1 Sport shortlisted works.
This represents 40% of Cultural buildings, 10% Education spaces and 7,5% Mixed Use, Religious and Urban works.
Regarding their location, Copenhagen, Berlin and Rotterdam are the cities where most of the shortlisted works have been built. The other works are located in different cities and sites in Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and the United Kingdom.
Next steps
The members who have selected the 2015 shortlisted works areCino Zucchi (Chair of the Jury), Margarita Jover, Lene Tranberg, Peter L. Wilson, Xiangning Li, Tony Chapman and Hansjörg Mölk.In the following weeks they will visit the 5 Finalist works and will collect first hand information from their users. On May 7 the authors of each work will present their project at an event open to everybody that will take place in Barcelona before the Jury decides the Winner. Two publications, one with the 420 nominees and one with the 5 finalist works and the Emerging Architect Prize Winner will also be presented to highlight the selection of high quality architecture built in Europe between 2013 and 2014. Save the date on May 7 and 8 On May 8 the name of the 2015 laureates will be announced at a special event at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.
The 2015 Prize exhibition and a celebration to acknowledge the work of all the architects and people who have been involved in the Prize process will take place that same day. The touring exhibition, discussions and lectures will be presented in different European and International cities between 2015 and 2016 and will connect with the next edition of the Prize that will take place in 2017. The exhibition with the 420 nominated works can now be visited at the Barcelona School of Architecture (ETSAB) until March 19.
To find out more: